Monday, December 5, 2022
HomeCricket NewsTeam India's 15 squads for Birmingham Commonwealth Games Announced

Team India’s 15 squads for Birmingham Commonwealth Games Announced


Related stories

Key Highlights

  • Harmanpreet Kaur has been named the skipper for the CommonWealth Games tour in Birmingham
  • Smriti Mandana gets named as deputy in the team
  • India’s women team will be part of Group A along with Australia and Pakistan

For the 2022 commonwealth games, Indian team selectors named Harpreet Kaur as the captain whereas Smriti Manadana as the deputy of the India team.

The 2022 commonwealth games in Birmingham that is commencing from July 28th and will last till August 8th. The women cricket team will be making its debut in 2022 CWG after the men’s team took part in 1998.

The most notable players that will be aeen making a comeback are Sneh Rana, who was out of the Sri Lanka series due to injury.

Secondly, the new face will be in the form of a wicket keeper named Yashika Bhatia accompanying another keeper with the likes of Taniya who has strike rate of 94.

The most expected Richa Ghosh who was expected to be in the team has not been selected despite her 191 runs from 14 innings and with the strike rate of 112.

The list of standbys include the likes of Poonam Yadav who is a leg spinner whereas accompanying her will be the seamer Simran Dil Bahadur.

More than week long tournament will have two groups and each group will comprise of:

Group A

India, Barbados, Australia & Pakistan

Group B

England, Sri Lanka, South Africa and New Zealand

Team India in their first match on July 29th will be clashing against Australia.

Few key highlights about the 2022 CommonWealth Games

  • Venue – Birmingham
  • Total number of Athletes participating – 4500
  • Countries – 72
  • No. Of days – 11

2022 CWG India Women Squad

Smriti Mandana (VC), Harmanpreet Kaur ( Capt.), Taniya Sapna Bhatia, Shafali Varma, Yashika Bhatia, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, S. Meghana, Meghna Singh, Jemimah Rodriguez, Deepti Sharma, Renuka Thakur, Harleen Deol, Radha Yadav, Sneh Rana.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here