Monday, December 5, 2022
HomeCricket NewsRoger Binny elected 36th BCCI President, replaces Sourav Ganguly

Roger Binny elected 36th BCCI President, replaces Sourav Ganguly


Related stories

Former cricketer Roger Binny has been elected as the 36th President of BCCI at Board’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Mumbai on Tuesday. He replaces Sourav Ganguly, who held the post since 2019. Jay Shah, the BCCI Secretary will continue in his post.

Binny was a part of the 1983 World Cup-winning team. He has given his services as President to Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA). He became the third Test cricketer to head the BCCI after Maharaja of Vizianagaram and Sourav Ganguly, whose term ended at the BCCI AGM.

Binny, the 67-year-old was elected unopposed at the AGM. BJP MLA Ashish Shelar succeeds Arun Dhumal as treasurer of the BCCI.

Earlier, Ganguly, the former India captain was offered the IPL Chairman post but, the 50-year-old reportedly declined that offer while saying that no compromise with the current role. And, now he has been replaced at AGM.

It is pertinent to write that Jay Shah, son of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, who completed his first tenure with Ganguly as BCCI secretary, will continue in his role for the second term.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here