Thursday, December 1, 2022
HomeCricket NewsINDW vs SLW: India Women won the ODI series 3-0 against Sri...

INDW vs SLW: India Women won the ODI series 3-0 against Sri Lanka Women


Related stories

The Indian women’s team won the third ODI by 39 runs and wiped out the Sri Lankan team in the three-match series. India did well in the first series after Mithali Raj retired.
eam India won the last match of the three ODI series between India and Sri Lanka women’s team by 39 runs. With this, the Sri Lankan team was eliminated in the ODI series. Batting first, India scored 255 runs in the stipulated 50 overs for the loss of nine wickets. In reply, Sri Lanka’s women’s team was reduced to 216 runs in 47.3 overs. India won this match by 39 runs.

Team India entered the ODI series for the first time after the retirement of Indian women’s cricket legend Mithali Raj. In the very first series, India has done well. Similar performance will be expected from the women’s team in the coming times as well. India’s captain Harmanpreet Kaur performed brilliantly in this series. He was also adjudged Player of the Match and Player of the Series. Batting first, India had a good score after losing the toss and opting to bat first, the start of the Indian team was not special. Smriti Mandhana returned to the pavilion after scoring just six runs, but Shefali Verma batted well and scored 49 runs. He shared a 59-run partnership with Yastika Bhatia (30 runs) for the second wicket. However, the Indian team stumbled after Yastika was dismissed. Six batsmen were dismissed for the score of 124. After this, captain Harmanpreet shared a 97-run partnership with Pooja Vastrakar (56 not out) to take India to a score of 255. Harmanpreet Kaur scored the highest 75 runs.

Captain Atapattu, Rashmi de Silva and Ranvira got two wickets each for Sri Lanka. Kavisha Dilhari, Ranashinge and Kanchana got one wicket each.

Chasing the target of 256 runs, Sri Lanka did not have a good start. The first wicket fell on the score of seven runs. However, after this Chamari Atapattu and Hasani Perera took charge of the innings with a partnership of 56 runs. After this there was no big partnership for Sri Lanka. All the batsmen started well but did not play any long innings. Nilakshi de Silva top scored with 48 runs. Chamari Atapattu played an innings of 44 runs. In the end, Sri Lankan team got out after scoring 216 runs in 47.3 overs.

Rajeshwari Gaikwad took the highest three wickets for India. Pooja Vastrakar and Meghna Singh got two wickets each. Deepti Sharma, Harmanpreet Kaur and Harleen Deol took one wicket each.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here