Wednesday, December 7, 2022
HomeCricket NewsBCCI To Conduct Auction For 5 Women’s IPL Franchises, No First Right...

BCCI To Conduct Auction For 5 Women’s IPL Franchises, No First Right Of Refusal For Current IPL Owners


Related stories

Roger Binny headed BCCI is set to conduct an auction for the inaugural Women’s Indian Premier League (WIPL).  According to reports, there will be no first right of refusal for the current IPL team owners. If reports are believed, BCCI is planning to organize WIPL next year, immediately after completing of the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 in South Africa.

And, there will be five franchise teams in the first edition of the tournament as per the recent announcement of the cricket board under Sourav Ganguly, who has been replaced from his post at BCCI’s 91st AGM in Mumbai on October 18.

            During the AGM, the general body of the board approved to conduct of the much-awaited WIPL.

            “The General Body approved to conduct the Women’s Indian Premier League,” the BCCI said in a press release.

            “The details are being worked out and we will soon finalize how to go about it,” Rajeev Shukla, the BCCI vice president told reporters.

            He said that another general meeting of the board will be held very soon after the acting CEO Hemang Amin prepares the Women’s IPL model.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here