Monday, December 5, 2022
HomeCricket NewsAsia Cup 2022 officially shifted from Sri Lanka to UAE

Asia Cup 2022 officially shifted from Sri Lanka to UAE


Related stories

Amidst economic crisis and the growing tensions near to the boiling point, the two cricketing bodies, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and the Asian Cricket council (ACC) has arrived to a conclusion taking economical as well as the political unrest into consideration, to shift the Asia Cup 2022 tournament from Sri Lanka to the neighboring country i.e., UAE (United Arab Emirates) which is official now.

The decision was made based on the previous happenings, while the president Rajapaksa had to flee the country after the people entered the presidential palace and then the same crowd tried hampering the peaceful second test match between Sri Lanka and Australia which was handled with care.

However, taking all the previous unprecedented events into consideration and not to take a slight of such chances in the future the decision was made to shift the multiple team event, the Asia cup outside of UAE and get it run smoothly.

A press release from Asian Cricket council (ACC) stated,

“Considering the prevailing situation in Sri Lanka, the ACC, after extensive deliberation, has unanimously concluded that it would be appropriate to relocate the tournament from Sri Lanka to UAE,”

Currently, the Sri Lankan team had two match test series against the neighboring nation Pakistan which settled with a draw by 1-1.

Adding to what the ACC board just released, the president of SLC also continued in the same tone, stating,

“We were really looking forward to hosting our Asian neighbors in Sri Lanka for the much-anticipated Asia Cup. While I fully stand by the ACC’s decision to shift the Asia Cup to UAE, considering the current context and magnitude of the event, Sri Lanka cricket will work closely with the ACC and the Emirates Cricket Board to ensure that we still have an exciting edition of the Asia Cup,”

In total six teams will be participating in the Asia Cup which will include India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh whereas the sixth team is yet to be declared.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here